Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2021, 09:40   #1

How much trouble am I in? My first sailboat :(

Hello everyone,

I am new to sailing and bought my first sailboat with a few friends. We got it for a decent price and was hoping to renovate it.

It is a Tanzer 22 sailboat. And today, we discovered that there are leaks coming out of the hull (picture provided).

Is this a major problem and if so, how should I remedy it?

Thanks,

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4287.jpg
Views:	264
Size:	436.7 KB
ID:	236013  
Dave Cabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2021, 09:57   #2

Boat: Swallowed the anchor
Re: How much trouble am I in? My first sailboat :(

It appears that the keel to hull joint has lost its integrity. I have no idea as to the specific details of that joint's construction but if it were my boat I would drop the keel, inspect the keel bolts or studs and replace them if necessary. Then fair the keel to hull joint, rebed and reattach the keel to the proper torque values.
kenbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2021, 10:49   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Cabs View Post
Hello everyone,

I am new to sailing and bought my first sailboat with a few friends. We got it for a decent price and was hoping to renovate it.

It is a Tanzer 22 sailboat. And today, we discovered that there are leaks coming out of the hull (picture provided).

Is this a major problem and if so, how should I remedy it?
Not near enough info provided to be able to diagnose the problem over a forum. And that just looked like a dribble.