Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-03-2020, 05:17   #1

Boat: 1984 Pearson 34 & 1974 Pearson 26
Keel bolt replacement / 3M 5200 strength

I was considering keel bolt replacement (one at a time) on my new to me 1974 P26. Previous owner did a full keel re-bed approx 12 years ago. He told me that he used “liberal” amounts of 5200 on the full bolt / bore, as well as the keel to hull joint. I’m a newb. This is my first sailboat. I’m questioning the merits of even bothering with this task. The exposed bolt end and nuts are significantly corroded. Is the 5200 too strong to consider driving the bolts back down through?
Rol1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2020, 05:20   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: Keel bolt replacement / 3M 5200 strength

It sounds like this job is going to open Pandora's box. Consider cleaning the nuts, and perhaps loosening them one at a time to see that the threads are OK and you can re-torque them.
Old 28-03-2020, 05:29   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rol1964 View Post
I was considering keel bolt replacement (one at a time) on my new to me 1974 P26. Previous owner did a full keel re-bed approx 12 years ago. He told me that he used “liberal” amounts of 5200 on the full bolt / bore, as well as the keel to hull joint. I’m a newb. This is my first sailboat. I’m questioning the merits of even bothering with this task. The exposed bolt end and nuts are significantly corroded. Is the 5200 too strong to consider driving the bolts back down through?