Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-04-2011, 15:11   #1

Boat: Moody 38 S
New Zealand Naval Architect Allan Mummery

I would like to have any news about this yachts' designer and his main projects.

There is any one who knows his yacht named Marimba 44?
CQR25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 17:10   #2

Boat: Farr 46
Re: New zealand naval architect Allan Mummery

I am pretty sure Allan is retired now, last I heard living on Waiheke Is near Auckland. He is an architect by profession who designed a variety of yachts of all types from long skinny gulf cruisers, steel, ferro and aluminium offshore yachts, a couple of fast centre board schooners and the occasional racers primarily Ice Fire and Oz Fire.
One of his aluminium designs currently for sale
MUMMERY 46 1982 For Sale in New Zealand
and a classic timber ketch
Mummery Ketch

I am not sure about a Marimba 44, Allan designed 2 yachts for Eric Wing in NZ both named Marimba, the first was 24' in wood, the second 34' in steel
Marinheiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 23:19   #3

Boat: Moody 38 S
Re: New zealand naval architect Allan Mummery

Thanks a lot for your reply. I found a yacht built in Europe following a Mummery's design. It seems well done but have a strange interior layout.
Sailing World - Occasion - Marimba 44 Aluminium
CQR25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 10:11   #4

Boat: Farr 46
Re: New Zealand Naval Architect Allan Mummery