Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2012, 09:02   #1

Offshore in a 33' Motorsailor?

Found this 33 footer here on the west coast of B.C., Canada, and thought it looked like the ideal economical summer gunkholer.

The big question is, what if wanderlust set in and I wanted to sail her down the west coast to Mexico or across the Pacific? All things being equal, would a boat like this be risky or at the least incredibly uncomfortable to sail offshore?
I have little information on the weight, ballast or sail area yet. I'm really just looking for member's opinions or first impressions (I have zero experience with motorsailers).

I do have my reasons for looking at such a compromise between a pure sailboat and motorboat. Just trying to get an idea of the kind of limitations this boat would put on my voyage aspirations.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2500.jpg
Views:	747
Size:	433.8 KB
ID:	38185   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2504.jpg
Views:	585
Size:	415.4 KB
ID:	38186  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2509.jpg
Views:	596
Size:	425.7 KB
ID:	38187   Click image for larger version

Name:	Skye Song7.jpg
Views:	359
Size:	24.5 KB
ID:	38188  

coastdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 09:15   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Re: Offshore in a 33' Motorsailor?

Looks more than capable to me!! Limiting factors will be fuel tankage and ballast. IE with enough ballast it should be stable.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 09:38   #3

Boat: 28Ft Piver Encore, Tri-Maran, Anchored in San Diego.
Send a message via Skype™ to Nemo55