Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-12-2012, 01:54   #1

Boat: Morris Ocean Series 40
Seacocks

I have recently purchased a 40 foot sloop (12 years old) which I have moored at a marina. I am mindful of the advice in many sailing manuals about the wisdom of turning off all seacocks when leaving the boat unattended for a period of time. If the boat is relatively new, well maintained with excellent seacock fittings, I wonder if it is reasonably safe to leave them open, say if leaving the boat for a few days rather than turning them on and off each time the yacht is taken for a sail. I am quite new to sailing so would be appreciative for any advice here.
traveller141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2012, 02:57   #2

Boat: Seafarer 38 cutter rigged
Send a message via MSN to Allan S
Re: seacocks

I close mine all the time. I also have a check list to open them when I sail because I have a 51 year old brain and I forget things, so every box has to be checked off. Here is a hint, if a seacock is stuck or jammed, apply heat from a hair drier or preferably an electrical heat gun for a few minutes. Chances are it might free it up.

It is up to you whether or not you want to do this
Allan S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2012, 03:24   #3

I confess that I haven't done it myself, but a checklist seems an excellent suggestion. I should probably have one for securing the boat at anchor/docked and another for getting underway.
mcarling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2012, 03:44   #4

Boat: Gib sea 43

It is one of those things you really should do, but after a while .......

If the pen is mightier than the sword, then my keyboard must be a nuclear missile!
stevensuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2012, 04:42   #5

Boat: Baba 35, Play Actor