Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2011, 03:33   #1

Boat: Grew up sailing Blue Jays then Lightnings, Ensign 22, Hunter 33 sailed the PNW and loved it!
Thinking Multihull

Silly question! If this topic belongs in another thread its ok to move it. I kind of desire the views of both people who sail mono and multi- if you sail both thats even better. First, a little background. I turned sixty and am fully retired (except for social security if it exists in 5 years). I have sailed mono hulls my whole life and really know nothing about multi's. I have been sailing my Island Packet 35 for the last ten years out of Everett, WA. Sold the IP and seek to live my dream of sailing both the PNW and the eastern sea board (especially the Florida keys and Bahama's).. I have no desire of selling my home and becoming a live aboard. My desire is to sail Florida during the winter months and perhaps explore other parts of the eastern sea board during the summer- if I do not decide to sail the San Juan Islands. I would be sailing about 6 months a year- perhaps longer! I am living my retirement dream! At present I have decided against owning two boats and decided to find one I can transport via a trailor. My dilema is the boat must meet at least TWO requirements.. 1) it must have a beem less then Nine feet. 2) Needs to have a shallow keel for sailing the Florida keys and beyound. Now, I will throw a third requirement- it must have some comfort for the wife. I know comfort is a relative- lets just say, a usable head, a comfortable sleeping area and a workable galley is a must! I looked at the macgreggor and hunter line- nice boats, I am just not comfortable sailing a water balast boat. The Dana which is being built here in WA state (a very nice boat) is to small for me (wife and two small d