Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2011, 18:58   #1

What Size for Coastal Cruiser

Hello All,
I am a newbie to sailing here so please be easy on me! I would like to know what is a good MINIMUM length boat you would accept for cruising along the eastern US coast where you would spend nights at inlets and marinas and sail all day to the next inlet. My home base would be Winyah Bay in Georgetown SC. Therefore, a typical trip might be to Charleston or Savannah and back (a day there, and a day back). I would go out about maybe 10-20 miles offshore to get a straight line to a destination. I am considering an older 22 foot Catalina with a swing keel. Would this be too cramped overnighting it for a few days at a time? Or would I need something a little bigger.

Thanks for any kind replies
bluegrassholder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2011, 19:07   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: What size for Coastal Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegrassholder View Post
Hello All,