Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-09-2016, 07:16   #1

Where to buy dinghy in Tampa

Hi! I'm new to sailing and I've been looking for a dinghy to start learning in Tampa Bay.
It's been incredible hard though to find used or new dinghies.
I've looked online and I've looked for dealers but I can't seem to find anything consistent.
I used craigslist and boattraders but the results are very slim.
From online search I'm interested in the laserperformance dinghies like Bahia and small Catalinas also.
Is there somewhere to go and look at them like a car dealer where they have a showroom?
I find it weird that they have places with a ton of RV on display ranging from $20K to $1M but I can't find anything remotely close to it when it comes to sailboats (or dinghies) that are much cheaper and living in the Tampa Bay area.

Any advice where to look?

Thank you!
tampabay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 07:26   #2

Re: Where to buy dinghy in Tampa

Are you looking for a dinghy or a small sailboat?? When I think of a Dinghy, I think of an inflatable (e.g. Zodiac). Are you looking for a small sailing dinghy, like a Walker Bay?

I would go to any of the online boat sites (yachtworld.com, boats.com, etc) and narrow the search for used sailboats under 15 - 20 ft. That might return what you're looking for.
Shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 07:49   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, tampabay.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 07:52   #4

Hi Shrew,

I'm looking for something like: