Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2007, 20:30   #1

32' Cat Rescue

cbs4.com - Spring Breakers Rescued At Sea

No specific details yet of cause.........also discrepancy on size 32 v 36'
Chuteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2007, 22:03   #2

90% submerged? Someone please explain this... 36 foot cat with 8 passengers.
N.M.I.ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2007, 00:08   #3

8 persons in a 36 footer is not so extraordinary. Look at this: multihull.com.au - Launchings

The boat called "Olivia" a 35 footer in survey for 30 pax offshore!
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2007, 14:17   #4

I guess I wasn't clear. I meant ONLY 8 passengers. Hardly overweighted. So how does a catamaran get 90% submerged?

I'm still learning about sailing (almost bought a boat last week, actually) but I was under the impression that cats flipped but didn't sink, and monohulls sank.

90% submerged = sunk as far as my feeble brain is concerned.
N.M.I.ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2007, 15:47   #5

Modern cats are built of lightweight composites, have multiple bouyancy compartments etc., and as a rule don't (can't) sink. Older cats often have heavier construction (eg. solid layups with chopped strand glass - heavier but not as strong) and possibly could sink. For instance if they got holed.

While 90% submerged is NEARLY sunk, it is actually still floating - having it there to hang on to is still a better position to be in than swimming for your life.
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2007, 16:39   #6

Boat: 27' CSK, Hula Kai
Send a message via Yahoo to fhrussell