Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

View Poll Results: Which one for learning catamaran sailing?
Hobie 16 10 66.67%
Monohull dinghy 5 33.33%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 15. You may not vote on this poll

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2022, 12:15   #1

A Hobie 16 to teach myself the ropes???

Planning to buy a Hobie 16 to learn the ropes. I'm in no rush. I have no sailing experience, but some theorical knowledge. My eventual goal is to eventually be able to sail something like 1160lite to the Bahamas and such. Is that a good plan? Am I missing something? A big mistake? Or whatever the community would like to say about it. I'm all ears. Thanks.
Kite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2022, 12:24   #2

Boat: J-24; J-105
Re: A Hobie 16 to teach myself the ropes???

Hey Kite,

Yea a Hobie 16 would be a good platform to learn on but partly depends on where you are. They are a mostly wet boat so may limit your sailing season some if in colder waters. Fun for camping from, but not as good camping on if you are looking for some overnight opportunities. If you are looking for cat experience then this will get you there quicker but you can have just as much productive fun learning on a mono trailer sailor. Hobies are easy to find to rent at beach resorts so give one a whirl a couple times before diving in. club racing will be starting here soon so you may find some monos to crew on if you are located near the coast. In hindsight this would be a good path but I too dont have an ideal setup for my wants/needs so any way you will have fun.

Best of luck
Wannabes00n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2022, 12:39   #3