Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 13:47   #1

pirate Cape Horn re. cats.

Hi all. . . first of all I have been checking this site for a couple months and just registered. So here's your latest noob! Love the forums. Very exciting.

My question is because of a comment I read in which Richard Woods said about his Gypsy 28 cat. that he wouldn't recommend taking it around Cape Horn (tongue in cheek?) - more for gentler waters, say more northerly.
Anyway, I intend buying a cat. around 8 or 9M, within a few months, for me and my wife.So far it's toss up between a Woods Gypsy 8/9M, a Catalac 9M or a Heavenly Twins likewise.

However (not that I intend going around Cape Horn), could someone, if possible, tell me how a Catalac or a Heavenly Twins would compare with a Gypsy 28 re. THEIR Cape Horn test? Please ?

I don't have the indepth know-how re. the structural strength or capability of the designs involved. (I just want to find out, possibly, how far short they might each likely fall of successfully rounding the Horn's waters, as a rough performance guideline for slightly less turbulant waters. Maybe it will help me in choosing.
I assume seamanship plays a big part but I am concentrating mainly on the comparative designs, their lines and structures, etc.
Sorry to make this query somewhat fuzzy. Thank you very much.
wambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 13:56   #2

Re: Cape Horn re. cats.

I'm sure experts on all these models will chime in. But I think you are setting the wrong standard. I don't think I would want to take ANY of these small cats around the Horn. You'd do better to state the sort of cruising you DO plan to do, and then ask for advice on good boats for those conditions.
Old 01-08-2012, 14:00   #3

Quote: