Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2009, 23:03   #1

Cruising Cat

Hi all,
I am new to catamarans but have sailed mono hulls. I was wondering about sailing performance on cats affected by weight. I reckon including people, gear and food I will load a cat by about 700kg. What do you think the minimum size cat I will need without its performance getting affected by the weight? There is also water and fuel which would mount to close to 400kg. I know the designs vary the amount of load but what would be a rough figure for the minimum length?

Thanks all for your help.

Peter
Plukky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2009, 23:27   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Welcome to Cruisers Forum Plukky!

Your answer depends on your performance expectations....which is something only you can answer. Sorry, I wish I could give you a definitive answer.

I am wondering how you got your numbers, because as a boat increases in size, you can carry more fuel, water and other stores without adversely affecting performance.

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2009, 23:41   #3

cruising cat

I am wanting fairly good performance so I can achieve 200nm+ per day given ideal conditions.
Plukky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2009, 02:18   #4

Boat: Jarcat 5, 5m, Mandy
A boat long enough to achieve that should be able to carry that sort of weight.
Robertcateran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2009, 02:46   #5

Boat: Privilege 37
Plucky you will find that most cat owners with a boat large enough to do those ssort of numbers will deliberately slow the boat down anyway when short handed and cruising. about 150-175nm day seems to be a more comfortable number.