Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2022, 07:30   #1

Boat: Wharram Tiki 31
Double forestays on a catamaran schooner/ketch

A beginner here...

Do people have double forestays (solent, cutter, side by side) on two-masted catamarans? With what kind of arrangements? Considering the foremast being next to a trampoline or other non-solid part of the deck.

I'm getting to crew on a cutter rigged boat (also a cat but with a mast much more aft than a schooner/ketch would, I suppose) and started to study running backstays. From there I wandered to read about solent rigs, cutter rigs etc. Before this I've only sailed sloops and a Wharram schooner. The idea of having a storm jib hanked on before you actually need one sounds good, as does cruising wing on wing, though I don't see myself sailing in trade winds in the near future.

When I was a kid, I sailed on a small catamaran with a double forestay side by side. Now I hear that this was a 70's thing and has been buried a long time ago. What's the reason? Uneven tension on the mast? Disturbing the airflow? It would be easier to attach forestays side by side than as a solent or a cutter stay (aft of the forestay), since there is just a trampoline between the bows on our boat.

A solent rig wouldn't work for us: we are tacking all the time and will not have a jib furler, so most of the time we could use only the inner stay (or remove it). Our headsail triangle is too small for a cutter rig and with a Wharram wingsail you couldn't have a cutter forestay anyway (nothing can be attached below the mast top because the mast is pocketed by the mainsail sleeve).