Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2008, 05:13   #1

Send a message via MSN to klevalt
Electric motors

Hey All,
I have been studying the prospect of buying a boat to live on, and travel at my leisure, and I think I have decided on a multi hull due in part to the dispersment of the living space and the rising cost of fuel. I wonder how feasible my idea is (for further fuel savings).
Would a change out of the fossil fuel engine to an electric motor be a difficult undertaking? I know I can get solar panels and use wind energy, but how much space would I need for batteries? Being a novice, I guess the most basic of information would be best, however having single-handedly taken apart and rebuilt a 1968 Chev Suburban without any prior experience, I am not afraid to try new things on my own.... I would love to hear if any of you have tried this, and what was your experience. Is it worth it, with the rising cost offuel and all? any other details you can think of that would be helpful would be great!
Thanks in advance!
Karole
klevalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 07:10   #2
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor

Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Quote:
Originally Posted by klevalt View Post
Hey All,
I have been studying the prospect of buying a boat to live on, and travel at my leisure, and I think I have decided on a multi hull due in part to the dispersment of the living space and the rising cost of fuel. I wonder how feasible my idea is (for further fuel savings).