Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-09-2014, 11:21   #1

Boat: Caliber 40
More questions from a catamaran cruiser wannabe

My wife and I have been sailing larger monohulls for over 40 years. We have done quite a bit of cruising from the North end of Vancouver Island to Acapulco in our Caliber 40 during the last 20 years. We have lived aboard off and on during the last 14 years.

We are now seriously considering a 40’ – 50’ catamaran as our next live aboard home and long distance cruiser. We will spend 90% of the next 5-years cruising in the Northern Hemisphere tropics. We will live at anchor 320 or more days a year.

We’ve lived aboard in the Western Mexico tropics (including three summers in the Sea of Cortez) on three different boats. Each of those boats had a lot, really a lot!, of opening hatches, ports, doors. The cross-flow ventilation was great and the boat interiors stayed pleasant under the brightest tropical sun.

Two of the 47’ – 52’ cats we have looked at had very limited opening side and front windows and just one or two overhead hatches. They did have large aft facing openings to the aft deck. But, at the dock in San Diego with 10 – 12 knots of wind blowing – both interiors seemed stuffy and warm even with all the hatches open.

Additionally, all the cats have big flat cabin tops that absorb a lot of solar energy.

Questions

1) Do big cats with few side and front opening windows/ports get enough airflow to stay cool in the hot tropical sun?

2) Is it practical to put a boom tent over the cabin top on a big cat?