Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Today, 09:25   #1

New to Sailing Cats

Hello Cruisers Forum!
This long term monohull sailor is considering dipping his toe in the sailing cat market. I am new to the catamaran market. I am hoping to sail the Caribbean for an extended period of time with my wife and rotating guests. Currently I sail a Tartan T4100.
My question is, based on actual experience, is there a hierarchy ranking of brands? I am looking for something in the 40' to 46' size range. Because this will be a liveaboard, I like the real estate a cat will afford you. I do prefer a turn of speed. Quality is important to me. I have concerns about things like hull slap and inherent quality issues. I feel like I would prefer to avoid charter boats. What features are important to you? Looking forward to your input.
Thanks
sailawhile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:29   #2

Re: New to Sailing Cats

There is a huge difference between a 40' and 46' cat - much more than 6' of length difference in a monohull.

Based on your desire to cruise Caribbean - I will assume your US based. If true most brands will do just fine between Bahamas and Caribbean.

To me sailing performance was a big factor in our choices. We migrated to a catamaran from the power boat world in part because I cant stand listening to the drone of engines anymore, so that means I wanted light air sailing abilities. To get better sailing performance something needs to give so you either have much smaller living space or you increase size.

The boat show">Annapolis Boat show is in October - there is a large array of cats at the show. Its worth spending a day or three there and look at the whole spectrum.