Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2020, 00:09   #1

Boat: KHSD Cruising Catamaran 30'
Rig a jib sheet on a 30' cat

I need to rig the fractional jib on my cat, and I'm a rank amateur. I also live in a very rural area so nobody around here to talk with about it.

At this point I think it will be furling, is designed (not yet purchased) at 143 sq. ft., and I'm running all lines to cockpit. I altered the designer's plans by putting a cuddy cabin on deck since I'm above 64 deg. latitude and wanted a bit of shelter. The plans call for track just alongside and aft of the mast on a 9 deg. sheeting angle. But with other lines run from the mast, they would have to go under the track, which would mean I need to elevate it for lines crossing under it.

One fellow on the sailing anarchy forum suggested using an adjustable cascade as follows, with the ropes just delineating the center line and 8 deg. sheet angle, the blue diamonds -padeyes, the green line - floating primary block. My advantage is easy to route other lines and less hole drilling.