Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2018, 22:33   #1

What are the engine-size limitations on a Cat?

I noticed a new 40 footer from FP has 20HP engines that can be upgraded to 30HP Yanmar from the factory.

I'm very new to Cats and was wondering what sort of engine limitations one was faced with. For example, could that 40 footer (that can be upgraded to dual 30HP engines at the factory) handle 50HP engines instead? What about 75HP? I realize fuel economy would suffer, etc. for extended motor cruising, and/or would need a larger fuel tank, but just wondering if anyone has put much larger engines on their Cat?

As for WHY someone might want larger engines... maybe to get away from oncoming bad weather faster or to cruise at a faster rate of speed for a certain distance if trying to reach a port before dark, etc.
boatingnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2018, 00:31   #2

Boat: Cal 40 (sold). Still have a Hobie 20
Re: What are the engine-size limitations on a Cat?

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...or-190132.html
cal40john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2018, 03:57   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs

Look at the power/fuel curve on a typical cat diesel and the small increase in speed with lots more HP (and fuel consumption) once you get beyond 6-7 knots. It soon becomes a bit pointless.

With my twin 38HP Yanmars, my figures are.

Knots.........HP ............lph

StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2018, 05:11   #4