Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-03-2018, 16:14   #1

Boat: Custome Open BOC 50' cutter rig
What is the best Catamaran to cruise and retire on?

I’m a monohull sailor, so I fully understand the need to get to windward. This request is for two good friends of mine, who are in fact also mono hull experienced sailors. Possibly because I’m older and I have a beard, they ask me an important life-changing question for which I have no practical experience, only monohull chatter to draw on.

And that is; What is the best Catamaran to cruise and retire on?

I’m looking to receive some independent feedback from the cruising form to draw on the best catamarans to consider say around 50’ which will give them enjoyment and keep them out of trouble.
My outreach to the cat community is my attempt to help them not make an error in buying a bad performing unsafe catamaran, which looks good in the harbor but not traversing oceans.

Thank you ahead of time, for your input and considerations,
kryg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2018, 18:17   #2

Re: What is the best Catamaran to cruise and retire on?

You are likely to get tons of opinions... and very different points of view.

I can tell you that price, where they plan to use the boat, how they plan to use the boat (will they live aboard full time?), home port... and about a million other questions will come up.

Search through all the posts on this site under monohull section and you will get some ideas. (as this topic has been discussed about a million times)