Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-01-2023, 07:36   #1

What's the average groundspeed for a Bali Catspace 40?

Yes, I'm a pilot.

I am planning a BVI sailing trip for February 2023 and I'd like to be able to calculate trip leg's durations.

Does anyone have a good estimate of the average speed over water for Bali Catspace 40?

Many thanks all.
varocketry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2023, 08:26   #2

Re: What's the average groundspeed for a Bali Catspace 40?

Quote:
Originally Posted by varocketry View Post
Yes, I'm a pilot.

I am planning a BVI sailing trip for February 2023 and I'd like to be able to calculate trip leg's durations.

Does anyone have a good estimate of the average speed over water for Bali Catspace 40?

Many thanks all.
There are not really any passages in the BVI's that take much planning other than a trip out to Anegada and the return back. That being said, when you are going anywhere to windward you'll be motoring, so figure 6 knots. If you are fortunate enough to have 15-20 knots of wind at your back, you'll probably average 6.5 knots. Most legs will take you 2 hours from hook up to hook down, we found ourselves mapping out longer routes skipping past things just so we could sail longer distances.

Enjoy the trip, the BVI's are such a great spot to island hop!
Kinkircating is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2023, 08:53   #3

"Shocked, Shocked I tell you ...."

Most boat sites say 15-20 mph for a catamaran. Were you replying for catamaran speeds?