Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-12-2020, 18:51   #1

Boat: Custom 31' rigid wing cat
Where is my ignition coil?

I am new to sailing multihulls.

Question 1: One of my diesel engines (the right one if I am looking backwards, or the left one if I am looking forwards) (why are there two?) bursts into flames when I start it. I think that's wrong. It seems like an ignition problem. So I want to replace its ignition coil, but can't find it. Where should I look. I called AutoZone, but they were no help.

Question 2: What is that booming noise when my engine starts? It is in-between a cherry bomb and an M80 in sound. Is it some sort of alert system?

Question 3: My previous sailing experience was with a paper airplanes, so I'm a little bit of a newby. A cruel person might say that I should have started out with something smaller than an 82' cat. Maybe I should know this, but I don't.. so please go easy on me. But here is the question: when I stuff a life jacket into my stuffing box I have a lot of life jacket left over. Do I just cut off the excess? Do they make smaller life jackets for the purpose? I removed that big metal roundy thing that goes to the squiggly thing in the water to make the hole bigger. But still, I'm wasting a lot of life jacket. Why do they make boats like this?

Merry Christmas to all!
Ken Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2020, 19:21   #2

Boat: McCurdy & Rhodes Custom 46
Where is my ignition coil?