Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2015, 09:20   #1

'74 Gulfstar MKII Perkins

Hey all. I'm a complete sailing newb and this is my first post, but I consider myself a fairly quick study and am not afraid to wrench. I've been shopping for a liveaboard now for a few months and came across this boat at a local marina. It needs a lot of work. The engine bay is nuts. The engine has been taken apart as someone has obviously found issues enough to remove the head with the cylinders exposed. From my googling, it appears this is a Perkins, though unsure of the model. The guy wants $3k for the boat, but it might take more than my budget to get the boat running. The requirement for the slip is that I must motor on my own power before I end up there. Honestly, I'd rather the engine worked too. Beyond the lack of good rigging, considering a worst-case scenario, can any of you please provide a ballpark estimate of what I'm looking at (money-wise) to resolve the engine issues? I plan on having a local diesel shop come take a look and give me best guess in a few weeks, but I figured it couldn't hurt to ask.
loadedmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2015, 12:30   #2

Re: '74 Gulfstar MKII Perkins