Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2012, 21:32   #1

Boat: Piver Victress 40 - Windhook
At what temperature should my MD2B be running ?

My Volva MD2B quit on my the other day. It restarted right away but I let it cool for about 30 minutes before really using it again (to get back to dock). The prop was a bit fouled by crusty growth ( could that extra load cause a heating issue ?).

Now that I've been searching around for typical operating temperatures for this engine I'm a little bit alarmed because a lot of them see very low in comparison.

I've been running this engine for a couple of years now and the typical water temperature on my gauge is around 190F, sometimes going right up to the 212 mark. I recently bought an infrared gauge to see what other parts of the engine were up to. some parts around the cyclinder were up to about 220 F, while the thermostat cap rarely goes over 100 F.

Have I been slowing killing my engine with heat ? It's been very rock solid and has been run in this condition for up to 8 hours at a time with no apparent problems.

Any thoughts ?
dubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2012, 23:34   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: At what temperature should my MD2B be running ?

Salt precipitates out of seawater forming a rocklike accretion on the internals of the engine. Not sure what the temperature is but definitely below 160 degrees, with 140 degrees being a good temperature to run the engine. My MD2B ran so cold it wouldn't heat water in the heat exhcanger hot water tank.