Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2023, 08:34   #1

Diesel conversion fuel tank

I recently purchased a sailboat that had a diesel inboard added after market. It was definitely a diy job but it does work. I admit I'm a newbie to diesels but I'm trying to learn as fast as I can. My question is they had converted a plastic gas outboard tank to use for diesel and the way they attached the hoses to it is, One hose comes from the old fuel connection . Then they attached a hose to the filler lid (guessing this would be the return line. But then there is a T just above the return line with a hose that is about 3 feet long that goes nowhere. I have no idea what that is for? I should also mention its almost impossible to get the fuel lid off with the hoses attached to it. Any ideas what this hose was for?

Just to clarify 2 hoses attached to the tank fill lid and one to the gas connection.
jp.beauchemin71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2023, 08:40   #2

Boat: Custom 38' Crabber
Re: Diesel conversion fuel tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp.beauchemin71 View Post
Any ideas what this hose was for? .
Sounds like it is being used as a vent line for the tank. Not the best design.
roryboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2023, 08:57   #3

So I should just mount the hose as high as I can so the return doesn't go out it instead of back into the tank

Yeah not the best design.
jp.beauchemin71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2023, 10:18   #4

Boat: 1966 Spencer 42'

You need to trace the hoses from the engine, there will be a lift pump on the side of the engine, with a large hose for the feed, a smaller hose for the return, then you need to find where they run.

Yes, the fuel tank needs to be vented.