Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-02-2016, 12:50   #1

DT85 outboard intermittant acceleration

Hi All,

I have a problem with a DT85 Suzuki outboard.

When i FULLY open the throttle the boat revs at around 1500-2000 rpm and goes no faster, then after a while it will pickup speed and seems to run fine at around 4000-4500 rpm.

Sometimes when backing off the throttle completely after its been running fine, the problem starts all over again, other times i can accelerate off the bat and its fine.

From what i have read on forums it seems to point to a fuel/carb problem.

But i am not a mechanic and not sure where to start?

Any advice would be appreciated.
cam52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2016, 13:13   #2

Re: DT85 outboard intermittant acceleration

Learn as much as you can by watching it on youtube if you're planning on doing it yourself.
Suzuki are generous with free manuals online.
Not technically demanding but do read the manual, study the exploded drawings.
Take photos & make your own sketches as you work so the manual makes sense.
Lay parts in order - first off is laid furthest from you on your beautifully clean, otherwise empty bench. Reassembly then is easy, rebuild from nearest to furthest.
Anything you don't understand, stop & study until you do. Don't force anything &...

have a service kit ready before you start.

Or you could just try carb cleaner first if you want. Sometimes it works.
unclemack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2016, 13:20   #3

First thing I'd try is a new set of spark plugs.

John McEnroe
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote