Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2021, 21:04   #1

Boat: 1989 Hunter Vision 32
'Ello gov(ernor)!

It's crazy to think I only bought my used (and to some extent, abused) '89 Vision 32 only two years ago. I am a chemist by trade, and love all things engineering, so I was eager to start correcting the mistakes of the six previous owners - and boy have I been busy! I was able to update the critical systems, starting with electrical, to a status worthy of an extended cruise through the San Juan Islands last August, which was probably one of the greatest payoffs to hard work I've ever experienced.

I decided I would address one major project per year, as time and funds allowed, and this year that task was to get my Yanmar 3GM30F in "more reliable" condition, namely to address the very common hard starting issues. Injectors professionally rebuilt (I tried, but it was beyond my skill to heal), fuel injection pump green-lighted by the same, highly reputable shop, head rebuilt, valves lapped, valve stem seals replaced, new hoses, new fuel piping and seals, new lift pump...and she still wants to die at idle. I have finally arrived at the big Boss fight: it is time to inspect the governor. I am hoping and praying a certain sailorchic34 might be listening in here, as I know her experience from lurking around this excellent forum before.