Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2008, 05:21   #1

Boat: Baba 40
Fuel fill venting - Racor LG100

I am refitting my boat with new fuel tanks. The single 110 gallon tank leaked and has been cut out. I am replacing it with three tanks as I can't get a 10' long tank in to the boat. I studied my vent line path yesterday and at the last 2 feet it goes up inside an area that would require cutting up the interior to get at the connection going to the fitting on the outside of the cabin trunk. I don't really want to cut that area up.

If I run the vent line from each of the three tanks into the one line going out, should I be putting a seperate Racor LG100 on each of the lines before the merge or can I put a single LG100 after the merge? I am not very familiar with how the LG100 works but understand that it is the best at preventing spills when the tank gets full. I'm not even sure if it is the right thing to do to put all three tanks into the one line going out. I can't imagine that it would be a problem as you can only fill one tank at a time.

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated as always.

Jeff
sv/ Fafaki-Tahi
Home Page
6string is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2008, 06:10   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Will you have a separate Fill, for each tank; or will you have a single Fill, and gravity manifold connecting the tanks?

Goto: http://www.a-filter.se/files/racor_products.pdf
Select “Section 2 - Marine”, then “Fuel/Air Separators”.

See also the excellent review at:
Foundation Findings #40 - Spill? What Spill?

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2008, 08:38   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais