Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2020, 18:03   #1

Boat: Pearson 365 ketch
Help - crazy issue , no start

Ok forum, I'm stumped so let's see if anyone out there can help. To preface this , I've been a mechanic my whole life , so we need to jump to Level 3 of the troubleshooting !
Pearson 365 , westerbeke 40 - was running perfect . We noticed the instrument panel lights were glowing with key off , and also the tach had not been working previous ( which whatever) . Looking at the wiring diagram for the boat, made sense that the diodes went bad in the alternator - it had an arco one on there , so ordered it. Put it on , no lights anymore , started up - still no tach . So I decide, pull the gauges down and check the tach signal- as soon as I drop the instruments down - engine dies and won't restart.
Now, I screwed myself up here by digging into the fuel system( there is NO electronic shutoff anywhere) and spent too many hours bleeding , etc.
finally got it to start , ran for 1/2 hour or so - no tach still , but whatever . Sounded weird like load going on and off ( I was assuming still air bubbles somewhere) then all of a sudden- tach jumps on and ammeter too ( I quess never noticed that before) and it quit again.
So, today I spent all day focused on the fuel system ( replacing filters, lines, seals ) and bleeding more times than I can count - no air anywhere , still wouldn't start so I was ready to just say, get someone here that knows more than me about these things ( which really burns me, FYI) then I noticed the lights are glowing in the gauges again.
I also remembered that the PO told me the gauges were replaced ( but why ? I'm thinking now)