Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Today, 07:21   #1

Life Cycle Environmental Impact

Just for discussion and thought. Things are always more complex in the real world than politicians and activists of any stripe present.

As an engineer, I know how notoriously difficult any kind of overall life cycle analysis can be, especially environmental ones. It is very complex to sort out the real differences between two alternatives when you have to trace everything back to the mine to be sure you have it right.

The analysis frequently result in conclusions that are contrary to intuition, and to what we are presented as "obvious" in the media. Just as an example, every comprehensive and well done study comes to the same conclusion in the automobile industry: The lowest impact vehicles are NOT fully electric, but are the plug-in hybrids. Although a HUGE difference in results can be found by small tweaks of the assumptions around usage patterns and lifespans.

This study of the relative impact of electric propulsion in boats is not new (but is new to me).

As an engineer, the results make intuitive sense to me. Resource inputs to BUILD an electric powered boat are significantly larger than a hydrocarbon fueled one. The hull, drive engine, control systems, etc. are all essentially the same. The biggest difference is the fuel tank is replaced with batteries. Pretty obvious that batteries have a huge resource input compared to a fuel tank. So the electric boat starts out with a significant environmental deficit. The ideal is that it's fuel is totally green and it doesn't make any more CO2 ever, so it eventually turns into the green option if it is used enough. That turns out to not be true.