Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2017, 06:53   #1

Mounting an outboard

I've decided to replace my inboard OMC sail drive with an outboard engine. I'm attempting to mount a 15hp Honda 4 stroke long shaft to the back of my 25' Buccaneer (BUCCANEER 250 sailboat specifications and details on sailboatdata.com).

I'll admit, I'm quite new to the sailing community.

The transom of the Buccaneer not perpendicular to the waterline as she lays. My concern and question is what outboard motor mounting system is best for my vessel?
tgardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 08:26   #2

Re: Mounting an outboard

Probably best to have a custom bracket made up, saying that there are plenty of store bought supports that would fit,

The outboard has adjustments for the trim so the angle of your transom shouldn't present any issues, be sure you get the outboard engine low enough so the propeller is under the water at the correct depth,

Cheers Steve
Captsteve53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 08:29   #3

Boat: Bristol 27

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgardy View Post
I've decided to replace my inboard OMC sail drive with an outboard engine. I'm attempting to mount a 15hp Honda 4 stroke long shaft to the back of my 25' Buccaneer (BUCCANEER 250 sailboat specifications and details on sailboatdata.com).

I'll admit, I'm quite new to the sailing community.

The transom of the Buccaneer not perpendicular to the waterline as she lays. My concern and question is what outboard motor mounting system is best for my vessel?
You may have to build a wedge (or have one built) to go between the motor and the outboard bracket.

I have a 5 hp 4 stroke on my 6600# Bristol 27. You can see a bit of the wedge I have in the picture.