Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-11-2021, 03:03   #1

Request for help: problems with overheating old Volvo Penta engine

Hi fellow cruisers, I am currently off the coast of Sweden heading south to escape the cold, but has encountered a problem I was hoping someone here could help me with. I have limited technical experience and have purchased an old Bacchant IV ocean crosser that is somewhat more of "a repair project" than expected..Please excuse my ignorance, I have no formal training and don't know what I am doing....I learn everything by trying and failing and trying again while consulting some books and youtube combined with asking stupid questions..

The engine is a Volvo Penta MD 11c (almost 40 years) is overheating. Yes, it is due for replacement, but I really want to make it last a little longer if possible.. This particular engine model was originally salt water cooled (direct cooling), but was delivered with a heat exchanger and pump as add-on from day one. It is therefore fresh water (indirect) cooled despite the manual saying something else.. I have taken apart the raw water cooling system, serviced it and put it together again. This part now works well from seawater inlet, filter, sea water pump with impeller, heat exchanger, exhaust bend and all the way until exhaust outlet.