Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2015, 19:46   #1

Boat: Pearson 424 Ketch
Starter fluid in diesel?

I haven't started my Westerbeke W58 for several months. Even with a new battery, she turns over slowly and won't fire. Is there a starter fluid I can spray into the air intake to get her going. Yes, I'm new to diesels but have a car background.
Kalinowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2015, 06:12   #2

Boat: Morgan Classic 33
Re: Starter fluid in diesel?

There may be a 'cold start' procedure. If you don't have an operator's manual they can usually be downloaded for free from Weterbeke's website. And/or there may be a decompression lever that allows you to spin the engine up with no compression and then close the lever to restore compression allowing the inertia to start the engine.

Although almost every manual I've ever read says to not use starting fluid (a generally good idea), ether can be used, the difference is in the application compared to spark ignited engines. With the engine turning over, just a tiny spritz into the intake like a lady putting on perfume, (don't do it with the glow plugs energized), is often enough...

Also, before you start, make sure both the negative and positive cable are tightly connected at both ends, corrosion free, and that the cables themselves are not internally corroded. A good test for internal corrosion is the relative flexibility of the cables, stiff is generally not good.
jimbunyard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2015, 06:26   #3

Boat: Island Packet 38

Too much ether can damage a diesel engine. In any event, do not use any starter fluid in conjunction with glow plugs! Much better to find and correct the cause; check the following in order:

1) Basics - Oil level and clean air filter