Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2011, 15:32   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Synthetic Oil

I am purchasing a new used boat.The yard where the boat is at only uses synthetic oil,The engin is a Yanmar 4JH3E appx 3000 hours,I have no knowledge of PO oil type,Will synthetic oil do is it better than Castro GTX which I have always used in my present Boat?I am sure I could get some Castro oil somehow.This engin was making oil due to a bad lift pump,had oil analysis done all ok.Thanks for the help,PS this will be the first change after analysis
casual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 16:03   #2

Boat: 1966 Buchan 37
Re: synthetic oil

Synthetic oil is great stuff, but perhaps not really required for marine use. It's all I use for the reasons outlined in my attachment. Everyone should read this as it dispells many myths about many oily subjects. It's a word doc as I copied and pasted from a web site.
Attached Files
File Type: doc oils.doc (149.0 KB, 210 views)
Old 07-12-2011, 16:25   #3

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now

One thing I do know about synthetics is you don't want to be making any oil. It brakes down the synthetic very quickly and will possibly damage the motor in short order. Motor oil can go almost 50/50 with diesel fuel before it gets too bad.

Machinery Lubrication May 2007
Old 07-12-2011, 16:29   #4
Marine Service Provider

Thank you delmarrey,that answer was not what I expected ,having had that experience once,must have been regular as engin check out.I will use only regular oil much appreciated,I wonder if this fact is well know?Thanks again
Old 07-12-2011, 17:01   #5