Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2010, 06:48   #1

Universal M 15 Problems

Hi,

I recently become a happy owner of the young (30 years young) Catalina 27. She has problems and quirks, I have no experience with DIY so we learn as we go.

I have M15 that give me two problems; one is overheating the other is fuel leaking on the injectors. Please let me explain.

1. Under load engine keeps proper (145 F) temperature for first 45-50 minutes, next starts overheating, so what I do is to clamp feedback raw water line forcing water pump to drink only fresh and cold Bay water.
This resolves the problem. I read that some owners of the M15 put an extra ball valve on this lane to do exactly this. Kind of strange mod. BTW I did descale the cooling system with Rydlyme (BTW it works miracles)

Now I have no idea why this might be happening? I checked the thermostat (boiling it in a pan at home) and it works . For some reason my temperature reading system is not working and I cannot figure why. This probably will need to wait. Mainly because even I tried to order new temp sender none of the suggested two by Torrensen did not fit. However I use laser temp reader as temporary solution.

2. My fuel return lines from injectors are leaking, 1-2 drops every 30 seconds and this dripping starts after 30 minutes of engine running. I changed the lines and tightened the clamps as much as I can but it does not help. As you can see on the photos those lines even bulge a bit.
As a side effect since injector temperature gets around 185 F the leaked fuel starts to burn and smoke.

Please see attached photos. Thank you very much for your suggestions and help.

Happy sailing!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Manual Ball Valve on return water cooling line.JPG
Views:	495