Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-08-2017, 11:41   #1

volvo penta metal tube disassembly

Hello,

We need to remove our thermostat. Today, in looking at the engine, it occurred to me that there is a metal tube connecting the heat exchanger and the thermostat housing. I'm fairly confident I can disassemble the unit, but how to re-assemble without leaks.

The parts diagram shows a "sealing washer". Does that washer require permatex or some or sealing agent to seal the metal tube to the thermostat housing? Is the contact pressure from the housing on the tube enough to ensure no leaks?

My engine has many of these metal tubes, so I imagine there is a way to do this. Neither the service manual nor operator's manual mention anything useful. I have some experience working on cars but metal on metal is usually welded.

Any help appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	therm2.png
Views:	163
Size:	109.5 KB
ID:	154632  
redbeard1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2017, 14:48   #2

Re: volvo penta metal tube disassembly

The sealing washer is in fact a rectangular section "O ring" and you will have the best chance of a successful job if you get a hand full of new rings and replace any of them that you disturb. While you are in there, install a new seal ring for the thermostat as well.

Depending on the condition of the surrounding housing a sealant may or may not be necessary.

DougR
DougR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2017, 15:00   #3

Boat: Outbound 44