Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-02-2018, 10:09   #1

Boat: Newport 30
Volvo Penta Tachometer Trouble

Hi all.

I'm an experienced technician, but this one's got me stumped. Just wondering what I've missed...
The boat is a 2003 Benetteau First 35.5 with a pretty standard setup. The old tach (PN 840866) slowly started to die, which suggests a corrosion issue to me, then died completely. Replaced the tach with a new one. new tach set up properly, but only goes to 1000 RPM at startup then goes to zero. Sent that tach back and got another new one. Exact same response, so it's not the tach. Measured AC voltage changing with the RPM at the 'W' post on the alternator so the alt is putting-out the required signal. Line from the 'W' to the tach has low resistance.
Now the weird part. The owner's guide schematic shows the 'G' (also called the S-) post on the tachometer going to a connector, BUT no wire coming out. I looked and found there IS a wire coming from the connector, but have no idea where it goes.
So I metered the good S+ (AKA 'W') wire at the back of the tach and used the S- as my ground. No signal.
I'm reasonably sure I have a S- issue here as I do know the signal is coming from the 'W' on the alternator.
Any guidance would be appreciated!

Steve
westwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2018, 14:09   #2

Re: Volvo Penta Tachometer Trouble

Engine model?
DougR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2018, 16:16   #3

not entirely sure (it's my buddy's boat), but it's a 3 cylinder volvo.

Steve
Old 25-02-2018, 18:04   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by westwon View Post
not entirely sure (it's my buddy's boat), but it's a 3 cylinder volvo.

Steve
Hi,