Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2011, 06:44   #1

Boat: looking for the perfect She
What Engine Can I Use ?

Hello,
I'm looking a sailing boat to buy. She's a gigolette sciomachen around 12 meters but the engine (nanni mercedes 60Hp) is dead. I'm a beginner in this things so I don't know if I have to look for an equal engine or if I can use other engines. Any inboard diesel engine fits in any sailing boat?? What I should have in mind to make sure that a engine that I might buy fits in the new boat?
Can you give any suggestion about the cheapest solution to do it?
Attached I have a photo of the old engine.

Thanks

Jonas Fish
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nanni mercedes 60hp.jpg
Views:	692
Size:	427.2 KB
ID:	22533  
jonasfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 07:11   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Jonas.

Most marine diesel engines can be made to fit in most boats - some much easier into some boats than others. The engine mounting beds are often the limiting factor. You’ll probably need a marine mechanic to review the actual boat and proposed replacement engine to determine specific suitability, and installed COST.

Good luck!

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:27   #3

Thanks for your precious help.
Whatever will be the option looks it will be expensive once I'm from Portugal and the boat is in Italy where I don't have any connections which will increase the costs even more. How I wish to bring she to Portugal without engine then everything would be easier.
Thanks again
Jonas Fish
Old 04-01-2011, 10:59   #4

Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Jonasfish,

Here is what I would do, as I have done a number of times in the past.