Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2018, 18:08   #1

Boat: Leopard 39
White Exhaust Smoke

I have twin 29 HP Yanmar diesels my Leopard 39. One of them gives off what I deem a normal amount of white exhaust smoke along with the sea water. The other one gives off considerably more white smoke in the exhaust, especially at higher revs, along with a normal volume of exhaust water. The oil is normal in color, no whitish streaks or milky appearance, the coolant level is good, oil consumption is normal, and the engine runs smoothly and doesn't overheat. Both heat exchangers were replaced a year ago. What could the problem be?
danielamartindm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 18:20   #2

Re: White Exhaust Smoke

I'm no diesel mechanic, mine gives off some white "smoke" but its really just water vapor as it dissipates quickly. I think its because my exhaust run is so short, the water doesn't have much time to cool down before exiting.
sailingunity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 18:27   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingunity View Post
I'm no diesel mechanic, mine gives off some white "smoke" but its really just water vapor as it dissipates quickly. I think its because my exhaust run is so short, the water doesn't have much time to cool down before exiting.
It's quite a bit of smoke, though. If I didn't have another engine to compare it to, perhaps I wouldn't give it a second thought; but why is this engine producing so much more white smoke than the other one?
Old 05-01-2018, 18:49   #4
Senior Cruiser

Boat: Bathtub

White smoke simply indicates that all of the cylinders in your engine are in agreement as to who the next pope is going to be.
BlackHeron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 18:56   #5

Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds