Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-01-2016, 07:17   #1

Thumbs up Yanmar 1gm10 alternator wiring question

All,

I am the proud new owner of a Japanese-made Yanmar 1gm10 from the early 90s.

I am running through everything and replacing all worn parts (thermo, zinc, alt belt, water pump, etc).

I just noticed yesterday that the battery terminal (it is clearly marked) on the back of the alternator has a bare wire sticking out, in addition to what looks like the main wire. I am a total newbie at this, but my guess is that someone had installed a water heater or some type of component that has since been taken out. However, I am worried because the red wire was just sticking straight up totally bare (in the pictures I have already capped it off).

I plan on running the motor this weekend to see if alt is functioning, bare wire has power through it, etc.

Anyone super-familiar with this motor have any thoughts or advice for me on this? It would be MUCH appreciated. Thanks for your time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160126_191444.jpg
Views:	3280
Size:	406.2 KB
ID:	117880   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160126_191513.jpg
Views:	1531
Size:	414.8 KB
ID:	117881  

Name:	20160126_191526.jpg
Views:	947
Size:	334.7 KB
ID:	117882  
johnlikesail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 08:19   #2

Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds
Re: Yanmar 1gm10 alternator wiring question

Same alt as mine. I think your assumption is correct.