Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2022, 15:17   #1

Yanmar 2qm15 hard start

I will start by saying that I am new to diesel motors. I have a new to me Yanmar 2qm15. I have the original manual, a full service manual, and a part list and I learning as fast as I can. I have gone through so many threads to try and find answers but nothing seems to quite fit. I have also just cleaned out the raw water system, done oil, and fuel filters. It has a new starter in the last 6 months, and a new starter battery. So here goes.
The engine is very hard to start. It takes about 4-5 minutes to get it to turn over, with the throttle at half revs or more. Its not cold out (50's). I start with having the raw water cock off so as not to hydrolock. I run the starter for 15 seconds at a time and then give it a break. After a minute or two it will start to catch, but still take a few more minutes to run on its own. Once going its great. I ran the boat for 6 hours the other day with no issues at all. If I shut it down it will start up immediately. If I leave it an hour or two it will start after about 10-15 seconds. The longer I leave it the longer it takes to start up again. By 24hrs its the full 4-5 minutes again.