Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2009, 21:15   #1

Boat: Beneteau 50
A cup of water came out of the rudder

I drilled a small hole near the bottom of the rudder on our new-to-us Beneteau 50. About a cup of water came out. (I didn't measure it, just an estimate.) Question is, now what? Do I seal it back up and forget about it, or do I need to take it apart and look into what the rudder looks like on the inside?

I know there are some cracks near the top where the water might have come in. I know I'll have to address that.

Guidance appreciated. Boat is on the hard on Long Island, NY until spring.

Regards
bene505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2009, 00:18   #2

Boat: 15 foot Canoe
I am no expert and,

If it were my boat.

If the water was rusty colored I'd be concerned and want to investigate welding of the web to the rudder post. If it was more or less colorless I would let it drain for the winter, seal the top cracks and put some flexible sealer around the rudder post so water can't get in there and make certain you patch your drain hole before launching. Each time you haul drill another drain hole to determine if there is still water ingress.

Regards,

JohnL
SkiprJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2009, 01:03   #3

Location: Winter land based UK New Forest. Summer months away. Making the transition from sail to power this year - scary stuff.
Boat: Super Van Craft 1320 Power Yacht
Send a message via Skype™ to swagman
Hi Bene505,

Trying to keep water out of any grp rudder is not easy and a single cup is, IMHO, nothing to worry about. I'd leave it to drain for as long as you can then plug your hole with an epoxy bog. Take the advice above and simply reseal your cracks using a flexible sealant - especailly between stock and glass.

Cheers
JOHN