Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-03-2023, 11:12   #1

Boat: 1969 Cal-34
Bottom painting at Lake Pepin - Please Advise

TLDR; can a total noob paint this Cal-34 bottom in a few hours, over the course of a few days, or should it be left to a pro?

I'm asking the forum for advice. This will be my second year as a sailor, with a slip on Lake Pepin, Minnesota. Fandango's bottom looks a little worse for wear compared to the other boats up on the hard, and I suspect it needs to be repainted. See photos. I have a few questions, and I'm hoping some of the old-hands here can help me from wasting time and money.
  1. For Christmas I got a lovely Shurhold Pro Dual Action Polisher to tackle the gel-coat scuffs and oxidization. That got me to thinking about the lower half, as well, and whether or not something should be done. Considering these photos, does it look like I need to repaint the bottom, or is this just an alternative way that bottoms can look, and I should leave well-enough alone?
  2. Assuming it needs to be painted, is that something a man with no experience doing sailboat maintenance, and a full-time job, should attempt or is it best left to professionals?
  3. If this is something best left to pros, a couple of questions:
    • Can anyone recommend painters in Lake City, MN? And what does something like this tend to cost, ballpark, low to high? I mean, are we talking less than $1000, less than $5000, what?
    • Is it naive to assume a pro could get the job done between now and late-April/early-May before the boat is scheduled to go into the water?