Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2019, 16:03   #1

Boat: Ranger 33
Building a Battery Tray

I need a proper place to secure my new battery bank. The locker I want to build in has been painted. My plan is to remove as much paint off the inside of the hull as I can by using a wire wheel attached to a drill, then use AquaStrip, then probably some more wire wheel, then clean with acetone, then sand a little with 50 grit for tooth, then clean with acetone. I've attached a drawing of what I'm thinking of building. Any tips or recommendations would be much appreciated. It's my first time building something like this on my boat, and I'd like it to go smoother than some of the other things I've attempted recently.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BatteryTray.jpg
Views:	307
Size:	241.8 KB
ID:	201668  
expozen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 19:13   #2

Boat: BUILT!!! Roberts Mauritius 43ft
Re: Building a Battery Tray

Why not make a f/g tray ?

Or buy one?

https://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_...+tray&_sacat=0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2019-10-18 Amazon com Attwood 9091-5 Battery Tray, 27 series, Black Sports Outdoors.png
Views:	237
Size:	113.9 KB
ID:	201676  
coopec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 19:36   #3

Boat: Nordic 44

1) Don't use aluminum, as copec43 said use fiberglass. Aluminum will corrode badly from battery acid fumes. But do not use an open tray - See #3.

2) Don't raise the bottom of the tray any higher than is necessary for the fiberglass buildup. You may want taller batteries in the future.

3) Make it liquid tight to a height over the batteries. This is to contain the acid if a battery springs a leak.