Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-10-2021, 10:52   #1

Catalina 27 Window Upgrade

Hey all! I'm new to boat ownership and this forum, so I hope this is in the right place. I'm currently in the process of saving an old Catalina 27 and my current project is the windows. The aluminum frames are in rough shape and very leaky, and some of the core around then is damaged. My plan is to replace the windows entirely to frameless using a VHB 3M tape and some silicone sealant, and add what structure I can to the damaged core sections, then make some trim for the inside of the windows. Has anyone done an upgrade like this before? Would it be better to just fix up the aluminum frames and re-seal those?

Thanks!
twistedburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2021, 11:29   #2

Boat: 1980 Endeavour 32
Re: Catalina 27 Window Upgrade

There is a guy on YouTube who is doing a full on restoration of a Catalina 27. I'm sure windows had to be part of his videos. Just do a search on YouTube for Catalina 27 Refit and you'll find it.
Old 28-10-2021, 12:09   #3

Thanks! I'll check that out!
twistedburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2021, 13:55   #4

Boat: Moody 376

Did this on the windows on my moody...
A few pics here. https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...ws-255158.html

I hav e more pics on my “blog” of sorts at sailing anarchy. I might have a done a more thorough write up, let me know if interested and I’ll see if I dig it up...
marcjsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2021, 15:04   #5

Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana

May I suggest Linux as an alternative to windows?
Old 29-10-2021, 09:01   #6

Boat: Island Packet, Packet Cat 35

You might see what replacements would cost from Catalina?
Cpt Mark is offline   Reply With Quote