Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2017, 16:13   #1

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Engineers? Opinions on this please...

I have a deck-stepped mast on a Columbia 29. The support needed replacement after 50 years. I am no engineer but I THOUGHT I had over-built this support arch sufficiently, but now I am not so sure after reviewing a new article about mast compression forces. So I am wondering if any of you folks out there might be able to help with their unvarnished opinions. I am thinking now I may need to rebuild it, but I sure would rather go sailing! The boat's displacement is 8000#. The arch is bolted to the bulkheads, a 2' span. Uprights support each end of the arch. The arch is made of 6 layers of 3/4" plywood, a 1.5 inch wood spacer, with 3 chevrons of 6061 aluminum, 1/4" thick and 2.5" wide let-in to each 1.5" if that makes sense. The photos should make it clear. The whole arch is then bolted together with 3/8" bolts and the uprights supporting the ends are bolted through the bulkheads as well. I am pretty confident about the bulkhead support and connection, but I am not now so confident about the strength of the arch itself. It certainly MUST be stronger than before though. Supposedly now, according to a new article I saw, there may be more compression force on the mast, over 9000#, than I had figured originally. So anyone with a little engineering expertise who might give me a thumbs up or down here? Thanks!
The original arch was built of laminated plywood wrapped in glass. I removed the section that had damaged wood and built the new arch to go up into that void, allowing the top of the aluminum chevrons to fit up there. I was trying to minimize the loss of headroom passing through to the v-berth.