Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2020, 03:11   #1

Griptex non skid, but in Gelcoat - Not Paint

I've got on upcoming non-skid renewal on my boat that I've been putting off for a couple of years now.

My requirements for a non-skid deck are:
- Good traction
- Durable
- Easy to Clean
- Looks good.

I've spent a bit of time experimenting with panels off the boat using thickened gelcoat & a textured roller, but I haven't had much luck, not only does it not look great, if anyone fell on it they'd probably loose large amounts of skin!

Kiwi-Grip is nice for a month or so, but impossible to keep clean in our muddy estuary, single part paints never last long.

So really its down to either a 2 part poly or gelcoat with non-skid particles added. My thoughts are that Gelcoat should long outlast the paint, so I'm erring that way.
I've bought the Course & Fine griptex particles my plan being to mix them for the final finish. I've seen some photos of griptex in gelcoat decks that look good, but there's not much info on how its done, ratio's etc.

Is it best to do a light coat of gelcoat, wait for it to start getting tacky & broadcast the particles like you might with paint? Followed by a second coat.
Or mix in with gelcoat and roll out, or get a spray gelcoat and spray them mixed instead?

And ratio's, is it the same as paint? Awlgrip recommend 60-75g per 1 litre of paint, is this the same with gelcoat?

I realise that's a lot of questions, hopefully someone has gone through this whole process so I don't have to waste a load of material experimenting.

Cheers