Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-05-2011, 22:34   #1

Boat: Endurance 35ft 1982
Help Removing Anti Slip from Deck !

Can anyone give me some suggestions on the easiest way to remove anti slip from the deck of our fibreglass boat? I am thinking sanding.
Miss Calypte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 04:05   #2

Boat: MacGregor 25', Columbia 26 Classic
Re: Help Removing Anti Slip from Deck !

You are probably thinking correctly.

I'm sanding down mine this week. I'm using a RO sander, 60 grit velcro paper and a nuisance mask. I cleaned the area first with a brush and acetone to remove any wax.

This is my first time doing something like this as well so I'll let you know how it works out
frank_f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 05:40   #3

Boat: Westsail 32

You can try using a good chemical stripper to see if it will work for the material that is on your decks. My tool of choice for sanding would be a large belt sander with 60-80 grit paper, way faster than a random orbit and will pay for itself with paper saved. The random orbit has a very good chance of dishing the surface, the belt sander will allow a nice fair flat surface if kept moving.
cburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 05:46   #4

Boat: Skookum 53'

I once used a large grinder with a wire wheel with satisfactory results. You do need to be careful because you can put dishes in the surface.
Old 20-05-2011, 07:09   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.