Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-12-2023, 16:34   #1

Boat: Prout Snowgoose 37
Hull Wax or Ceramic Coating

Hello,

I am in the finals stages of a complete rebulild from bare hull up of a 1980's fiberglass boat. The factory gelcoat is in amazing condition as it spent nearly its entire life shaded by trees in a side yard. We have lightly sanded and buffed the gelcoat to a high shine, and are getting ready to apply protectorant, and are unsure of what is best to use.

I've been looking at standard fiberglass hull wax vs ceramic coatings in lieu of wax. The ceramic coatings seem superior, but I have zero experience with them. What are the opinions of the fleet? Are there issues to be aware of or brands to recommend?

Note price is not the object here, just best quality and durability of finish. If it makes a difference, we are in a wet and cool climate (southeast Alaska).
Excalibur5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2023, 17:09   #2

Boat: Southerly 480
Re: Hull Wax or Ceramic Coating

We ceramic coated our boat last spring. We have a dark gelcoat that is in excellent shape, and found we were having to wax far more often than we liked the first summer. The gel coated cap rails took a huge hit from the sun. We're very happy after the first year.

The key and the biggest cost is in the prep work. If your gelcoat is new, then the cost won't be bad. Apply ceramic coating is easier than waxing...it's literally wipe on, wait a bit, and wipe off. We had ours professionally applied since our gelcoat needed a fair amount of work to remove swirls etc.