Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-05-2021, 19:04   #1

Is this repairable?

Hello sailing friends....I have got good advice from people here before so trying again. My 16 foot dingy, a laser-like boat but not a laser...did not survive the winter. The support that the bow was sitting on gave way, and I think what happened is the impact of the bow hitting the frozen ground shattered it.
I really liked this boat...it was a lot of fun to sail. So my question...is this a fixable fibreglass repair? I have no experience with fibreglass but have done a bit of research and think I could take it on. If it is repairable...any suggestions on what to look out for when I do it? I think one challenge will be the size and lack of any structural support for the repair...the inside of the hull is inaccessible, so there will be no support for when I grind the outside around the damage. Does this mean I ought to cut a hole from the deck to be able to access the inside to repair from inside first?
Any advice would be great....and is it worth trying to fix?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sailboat.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	150.0 KB
ID:	239314  
Byersd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2021, 20:07   #2

Boat: Island Packet 40
Re: Is this repairable?

Put a skin of light plywood on the inside, use polyurethane foam in a can to build up a body of stiff foam, sand it to shape and start fiber glassing. You'll gain a new skill, get to enjoy your boat in the future and experience gratification of fat more value than the few bucks you spend on the job.
Old 27-05-2021, 20:52   #3

Boat: Volkscruiser

Raymond R I prefer to do it the other way round. Screw the plywood (covered with masking tape) on the outside as a mould then glass it from the inside. Less fairing involved.