Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2023, 07:35   #1

Boat: Bavaria 44 2002
Is this white stuff on the hull mold?

It's my first time posting here. So hello, everyone! 😊👋

I have this problem I can't seem to find an answer for. I found some white stuff on the fiberglass behind the liners in the bow cabin. Is it mold?

I have tried searching for an answer without any luck. So, I'm trying my luck and hoping someone here knows what it is. 😁👍
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2394.jpeg
Views:	141
Size:	345.7 KB
ID:	271120   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2393.jpeg
Views:	132
Size:	339.5 KB
ID:	271121  

SeaGnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2023, 07:42   #2

Boat: Bruce Bingham Christina 49
Re: Is this white stuff on the hull mold?

Never really seen mold/fungal hyphae that white on a dry surface. Is it hard? Then possibly glue residue from a fabric liner.

Would wipe the area w/some vinegar. If it doesn't remove it, then would rule out salt film or mold.
Bill O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2023, 07:43   #3

Looks like salt deposits.
Pandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2023, 08:06   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill O View Post
Never really seen mold/fungal hyphae that white on a dry surface. Is it hard? Then possibly glue residue from a fabric liner.

Would wipe the area w/some vinegar. If it doesn't remove it, then would rule out salt film or mold.
Thanks for the tip Bill O! I will try wiping with vinegar. 👍

Yes, it's quite hard and brittle. It's like chalk in the consistency. I already wiped the area with soapy water, but nothing happened. However, I could scratch it away with my nail.